The Sukodo Former School (旧崇廣堂, Kyūsūkōdō) was built during the later stages of the Edo Period (1603-1867) as an education facility for the offspring of samurai from the former Iga, Yamato and Yamashiro provinces (parts of present-day Mie, Nara and Kyoto prefectures). The school was founded in 1821 but the original building was destroyed during a big earthquake in 1854. The current building was reconstructed in the 1860s, and it served as a public library for the majority of the 20th century.
Today, the former school is maintained as a national historical site which visitors can enter and explore. The spacious school compound contains a huge tatami mat lecture hall, a kitchen, a dormitory and a couple of gardens. Sukodo offers a nice representation of Edo Period architecture and interior design with its wooden foundation, elegant screens and tiled roof.
Sukodo Former School is located a five to ten minute walk northwest of Uenoshi Station.
December 29 to January 3